Mom’s Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin Bread sliced

As the fall baking season is here, I had to make Pumpkin Bread.  This recipe is from my Mom.  This was one of the many things she would make as gifts to give to family and friends.  This pumpkin bread will make your house smell so good with the cinnamon and cloves.  I love the texture the golden raisins and pecans add, delish!!

Pumpkin Bread

Makes 2 loaves

2/3 cup shortening

1 can pumpkin

2 2/3 cup sugar

4 eggs

2/3 cup water

3 1/3 cup flour

2 tsp. baking soda

1 ½ tsp. salt

½ tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. cloves

2/3 cup chopped pecans

2/3 cup golden raisins

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a mixing bowl cream shortening and sugar together.  Add pumpkin and mix well.  Add eggs and mix.  Sift together dry ingredients.  Alternately add dry ingredients and water, starting and ending with the dry ingredients.  Mix well.  Fold in nuts and raisins.

Spray the loaf pans with a non-stick cooking spray.  Pour even amounts into the two loaf pans and bake for 60-70 minutes.  Check with toothpick in the center of both loaves.  When toothpick comes out clean the breads are done.

Cool for about 10 minutes in pans.  Then remove from pan by turning upside down and cool on a wire rack.

You can also make this recipe into muffins or in mini loaves to give as gifts as well.

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Breakfast Dishes, Dessert, Hospitality, Quick Breads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

