Cherry Pie and Rachael Ray?

Many of you are asking me what happened with the dream job for co-hosting on the Rachael Ray Show.  I am disappointed to tell you that I was not named the winner or one of the four runners up, but I was so blessed by your compliments and encouraging words.  So, I have started this blog where I can share my recipes and food with you.

Pictured in my profile shot from my show application is my Cherry Pie.  I wanted to share this recipe with you.  The recipe comes from my Mom and is a favorite of mine.  It has almond extract and lemon juice in it.

DSC_0388

Cherry Pie Supreme

Serves 6-8

2 unbaked pie crusts

2 cans pitted dark red cherries

6 Tbsp. cornstarch

1 1/2 cup sugar

Dash of salt

Reserved juice from canned cherries

2 tsp. lemon juice

2 Tbsp. butter

1/2 tsp. almond extract

Combine cherry juice, cornstarch, sugar and salt.  Cook in the microwave in 2 minute intervals until thick.  Add reserved cherries, lemon juice, butter and almond extract. Stir gently to combine and cook for another 2 minutes in the microwave. Let filling cool while placing the bottom pie crust in the pie pan.  Pour cooled filling in pie crust and top with the second pie crust.  Roll under the edges of the two pie crusts together and crimp the edge.  Cut a slit in the middle of the top crust to let the steam vent while cooking.  Bake at 325 degrees for 35-45 minutes.  Let the pie cool to room temperature so that it will not be runny when you are ready to serve it.  Store any leftover pie in the refrigerator.

For the top crust on the cherry pie pictured above, I used the red maple leaf cut out that I have from Williams-Sonoma to make as decoration the on top of the pie.

DSC_0609

Thank you everyone for the likes you gave my application.  I know you will enjoy this pie.

 

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Dessert, pies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cherry Pie and Rachael Ray?

  1. Robyn Steinhauser says:

    Congrats on being in the top 4!

    Like

Leave a Reply

