Butternut Squash Instead of Sweet Potatoes

As many of you know, my husband, AC is a diabetic and Thanksgiving can be a diabetic nightmare.  In more recent years, he learned to enjoy sweet potatoes, especially when you crumble butter, brown sugar and pecans over them. Unfortunately, sweet potatoes are just not on my husband’s list of lower carb foods to help control his sugar level.  This lead me to substitute butternut squash for the sweet potatoes, unsweetened almond milk for milk and splenda for the sugar.  The butternut squash still has carbs, but not as many as sweet potatoes.  I use unsweetened almond milk because it has almost no carbs compared to 1 cup of milk that can have 12 grams of carbs.

Butternt Squash Casserole cropped

 

Butternut Squash Casserole

Serves 6-8

3lbs butternut squash, cubed

½ c splenda

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk

¼ tsp nutmeg

¼ tsp allspice

½ tsp. salt

Bake butternut squash at 425 degrees for 45-60 minutes until tender.  When sweet potatoes and done and cooled, peel and mash.  Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.  Place in a 3 quart baking dish or a 13×9 pan.

Topping:

1 cup chopped pecans

Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes until hot and bubbly.

Now for those of us who can eat sweet potatoes, here is the recipe I have used for years. This recipe was given to me by my mother-in-law and I have made a few updates to the recipe.

Sweet Potato Casserole cropped

 

Sweet Potato Casserole

Serves 10-12

3lbs sweet potatoes

½ c sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup milk

¼ tsp nutmeg

¼ tsp allspice

½ tsp. salt

Bake sweet potatoes at 425 degrees for 45-60 minutes until tender.  When sweet potatoes and done and cooled, peel and mash.  Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.  Place in a 13×9 baking dish.

Topping:

1/3 cup butter, softened

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/3cup flour

1 cup chopped pecans

Mix ingredients together and sprinkle on top.

Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes until hot and bubbly.

Enjoy!

 

 

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Low Carb, Side Dishes, thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

