My Twist on Traditional Meatloaf

Recently, we had guests staying over that have 4 children.  We were sitting, eating breakfast before their family headed out to Sea World for the day and I asked their oldest what he would like for dinner.  He quickly responded saying mashed potatoes.  I said sure we can have mashed potatoes and how about meatloaf to go with it?  He liked the idea.  Most kids like meatloaf and mashed potatoes.  It was a favorite of my kids and AC.

Growing up, my Mom always finished off meatloaf with ketchup.  I never liked it with ketchup on top.  So, I use BBQ sauce on the meatloaf.  I spread it over the top before I cook it in the oven. This will give it a glaze and will cook the BBQ sauce into the meatloaf.  Along with the cumin, you will get a nice smokey flavor.

Smokey BBQ Meatloaf

Serves 6-8

2 lb. ground beef

1 large onion, diced

2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. black pepper

2 Tbsp. minced garlic

1 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 eggs

1 ½ cup Italian Bread Crumbs

1 15oz. can diced tomatoes

Your favorite bottled BBQ sauce

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  In a large mixing bowl, break up the ground beef.  Add the onion, salt, pepper, garlic, cumin, Worcestershire sauce, eggs, bread crumbs and diced tomatoes.  Once you have everything in the bowl mix by hand.  This will help you to mix the meatloaf well, but you do not want to over mix.  It will make the meatloaf tough. Using a sheet pan, pour the meatloaf out and form it into a loaf shape.

DSC_0694

Pour as much or as little you like of the BBQ sauce on top of the meatloaf.  You can use a pastry or BBQ brush to spread the sauce all over the meatloaf.

DSC_0702

The BBQ sauce will cook into the meatloaf.  Cook in the oven at 425 degrees for 1 hour.

DSC_0706

It tasted great with the mashed potatoes.  There were no leftovers!

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Beef, Main Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

