Pepper Steak

My parents have arrived for Christmas and this is one of my Dad’s favorite dishes.  This is easy to make and while it is cooking you can get ready the side dishes and set the table.

I use cube steak for this recipe which is tenderized round steak or top sirloin.  You can find cube steak in most grocery stores.  Traditionally, this dish is served with steamed rice.  I started cooking this often when my husband stopped eating carbs.  It tastes great and is filling even without making rice.

Here is a picture of the cubed steak and the chopped onions and bell pepper for reference.

DSC_0718

Pepper Steak

Serves 4-6

Olive Oil

1 cup all-purpose flour

salt

pepper

6 cube steak

1 large onion, chopped in medium pieces

1 Green bell peppers, chopped in medium pieces

2 Tbsp. minced garlic

2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 15oz can diced tomatoes

1 15oz. can tomato sauce

Season the cube steak with salt and pepper on both sides.  Place flour in a dish and coat the seasoned cube steak on both sides.  This is called dredging.  Pour enough olive oil to cover the bottom of a large dutch oven.  Heat oil over a medium heat. Brown the cube steak on both sides and remove to a plate when done.  Repeat until all the cube steak is browned.

In the same pot, saute onions and bell pepper over medium heat.  Season with salt, pepper and garlic.  Add Worcestershire sauce, diced tomatoes and tomato sauce.  Cook until vegetables are just tender.  Add browned cube steak to the dutch oven and cover with the vegetable, tomato mixture.  Bring to a simmer and cover with lid cooking on low heat for one hour.  After one hour the cube steak should be tender and ready to serve.

DSC_0735

Since my parents are here and AJ is now home for Christmas, I made rice, cornbread, black eyed peas and sauteed squash with this for dinner. Yum!

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Beef, Hospitality, Main Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

