Crockpot Cream Corn

I love Christmas food gifts.  You never know what unexpected yummy will be gifted your way.  My family and I were making deliveries of some of the goodies I had made.  On one of our stops, the family we were visiting had just smoked up several racks of ribs and they insisted on giving us some to take home.  This family even makes their own BBQ sauce and we also got a half gallon of this to go on the ribs.  These ribs are special because they were cooked by a man who has been smoking ribs for over 50 years. He knows what he is doing.  The ribs and BBQ sauce were my favorite food gift from this Christmas because they shared from what they had on hand.  No plan was made they just gave from their heart.

A favorite side dish with BBQ for my family is creamed corn.  This dish is so easy.  Everything goes into a crockpot and 3 hours later you have creamed corn.

Crockpot Creamed Corn

Serves 6-8

2 cans whole kernel corn, drained

4 oz. cream cheese, cubed

½ cup milk

¼ cup butter, melted

1 tsp. sugar

½ tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. pepper

Drain the canned corn and spread over the bottom of the crockpot.  Cube the cream cheese and place on top of the corn.  Mix together the milk, melted butter, sugar, salt and pepper.  Pour over the corn and cream cheese.  Do not stir.  This is what it will look like when you start it cooking.

DSC_0766

Cover and cook on high for 2-3 hours.  When your cooking time is over it will still look like the picture above.  The cream cheese remains in the cube shape until you stir it.  Once you stir it well the creamed corn will become thick and creamy.

DSC_0767

 

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Crockpot, Gluten Free, Side Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

