New Year’s Day Black Eyed Peas and Cornbread

If you have not planned on having black eyed peas today for New Year’s there is still time.  The best way to eat black eyes is to make them yourself.  Growing up my Mom knew how to make black eyed peas, but she started buying them in the can and I could not stand them.  Several years ago, a friend of mine showed me how to cook dried black eyed peas.  Traditionally, you need to soak the peas overnight, but there is a 1 hour quick soak method as well for when you decide last minute to make them.

Quick Soak method for any dried bean or pea:

1 lb. dried black eyed peas

Rinse and sort through the peas.  Place peas in a pot and cover with 6-8 cups of water.  Bring to a rapid boil for 2 minutes.  Remove from heat and cover with lid and sit for 1 hour.  Drain and rinse beans. Now they are ready to cook.

DSC_0793

Black Eyed Peas

Serves 8-10

1 lb.soaked black eyed peas

1 smoked turkey leg

1 onion, cut in half

2 tsp. Pepper

2 tsp. Garlic powder (I prefer granulated garlic)

Texas Pete hot sauce to taste

Salt to taste

Place smoked turkey leg in a large pot and cover with water.  Bring to a boil, cover and reduce to simmer.  You want to simmer the turkey leg until the meat is easily coming off the bone.  Place the leg on a plate and let it cool so you can take all the meat off the bone.  Add the turkey meat back to the broth.  Do not pour out the broth made from the turkey leg. This is what you are going to cook the black eyed peas in.  The turkey leg has put a ton of flavor in the water that you want to use to flavor the peas.

Now place the peas in the turkey broth.  Add one onion you cut in half. Add pepper and garlic.  Do not add salt at this point.  Bring back to a boil, cover and reduce to simmer for 2-3 hours. Check the peas for tenderness.  When they are the desired tenderness, take off the lid turn up the heat to medium to medium high and let the broth cook down.  Watch carefully and stir every few minutes to keep them from sticking and do not let them boil dry.  When they are done, now salt and add Texas Pete hot sauce to taste. You do not want to salt earlier, because the salt can keep the peas from becoming tender.

 

To go with black eyed peas you need cornbread.  This is the cornbread I use.

DSC_0790

Cornbread

Serves 6-8

1 1/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 cup yellow cornmeal

1/3 cup sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 egg

1 cup milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Mix together dry ingredients.  Add the egg, milk and vegetable oil.  Mix just to combine.  Do not over mix.  Spray a pie pan with non stick spray. Pour batter into pie pan.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

DSC_0788

Happy New Year!

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Quick Breads, Side Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

