Crustless Spinach and Bacon Quiche

 

DSC_0789

This morning I made this for breakfast.  Since my husband is diabetic he does not eat crust.  You can certainly make this with a pie crust, but I do not even miss the crust.

Crustless Spinach and Bacon Quiche

Serves 6

2 cups fresh spinach

4-6 slices bacon, cut into pieces ( I use hormel bacon because I like the thickness of the slices)

1/2 large onion chopped

1 1/2 cup Gruyere Cheese, grated

8 large eggs

1 cup half and half

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  You will use a pie plate.  Place spinach in the bottom of the pie plate.  Brown the bacon pieces in a skillet.  When the bacon is brown add the onions to cook until tender.  Be sure and add the onions to the bacon after the bacon has browned.  Otherwise the onions will keep the bacon from becoming brown and crispy.  Place the bacon and onions on top of the spinach.  Next, layer the grated Gruyere cheese.  Beat the eggs, half and half, salt and pepper together.  Pour the egg mixture evenly over the layers of spinach, bacon, onions and cheese.  The quiche will look like this before you put it in the oven.

DSC_0777

Place in the 375 degree oven for 30 minutes.

When the quiche is done, it will be brown and fluffy.  Yum!

DSC_0784

 

 

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Breakfast Dishes, Gluten Free, Hospitality, Low Carb. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

