Red Velvet Cake Bars

This weekend is the highlight of football season, The Super Bowl.  Most people in America are going to or hosting a Super Bowl Party.  Here is a quick and easy dessert.  I came up with this recipe when I was wanting to make something quick and simple that did not take a lot of prep time.  This is a variation of another recipe that starts with a yellow cake mix and has a cream cheese topping.  I had a red velvet cake mix and the cream cheese topping had basically the same ingredients as the cream cheese frosting used for a red velvet cake.  So I made the substitution and they came out fantastic.

red velvet cake bar

Red Velvet Cake Bars

one 13×9 pan

Bottom layer:

One box red velvet cake mix

1 egg

1 stick butter, melted

Top layer:

One 8oz package cream cheese, softened to room temperature

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 stick butter, melted

3 cups powdered sugar

1 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl combine all ingredients for the bottom layer and mix well.  Pat into the bottom of a greased 13 x 9 baking dish.

Sprinkle the one cup of white chocolate chips on top of the bottom layer.

For top layer, whip cream cheese until smooth.  Add eggs and vanilla, mix well.  Beat in melted butter and add powdered sugar one cup at a time.  Beat for 2-3 minutes.  Pour on top of the white chocolate chips and bottom layer.  Spread evenly.

Bake for 40-45 minutes.  You want them to be done but not over baked.

My son, loves red velvet cake.  So this is a quick way to get something similar to red velvet cake, all in one pan.  The bottom layer is the cake part and the top layer to like the cream cheese frosting.  The bars are creamy and sweet.

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dessert Bars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

