Shrimp Etouffee

This week in Florida has been our one week of winter we get each year.  I wanted to fix something for dinner that was a one pot, hearty, warm meal.  I knew I had shrimp to cook so Shrimp Etouffee was perfect.  This meal is normally served over cooked rice, but since my husband stays away from rice and other carbs, we eat it without the rice.  With the rice you can feed 6-8 people.  Without the rice you can feed 4-5 depending on how large your servings are.

DSC_0899

Shrimp Etouffee

6 Tbsp. butter

½ c. flour

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 green bell pepper, chopped

2 stalks of celery, diced

1 tsp. salt

½ tsp. black pepper

2 Tbsp. minced garlic (you can buy this in a jar)

3 green onions, chopped

1 Tbsp. tomato paste

1 tsp. Cajun seasoning (I use Emeril’s Cajun Seasoning)

½ tsp. ground red pepper (also called cayenne pepper)

1 Tbsp. fresh parsley

1 tsp. dried thyme leaves

1 bay leaf

1 28 oz. can diced tomatoes

3-4 cups water

5-6 dashes of hot sauce (I use Texas Pete)

1 lb. medium uncooked shrimp, peeled and deveined

Salt and pepper to taste

In a large pot with lid, spray with non-stick cooking spray.  Melt butter and whisk in flour to make a roux over medium-low heat.  Continue stirring and cook until the roux becomes a light brown color.

Add onions, bell pepper, celery, salt and pepper and cook until vegetables are softened.

Add minced garlic, green onions, tomato paste, Cajun seasoning, red pepper, parsley, dried thyme leaves and bay leaf.  Stir and cook for 2-3 minutes over medium heat.  Add diced tomatoes and hot sauce.  Start with 3 cups of water and stir well until blended.  If it seems thicker than you want add 1 more cup of water. You want it to be more like a stew and not too soupy.  Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer.  Cover and cook on low for 30 minutes.

Add the shrimp and cook for 3-5 minutes on low.  You want to add the shrimp at the end so they do not overcook.  Taste seasoning for salt and add more if needed.  Start with a ½ tsp. at a time until it is to your taste.  You can also adjust the heat by adding more red pepper or hot sauce if you like it hotter.

Serve over cooked rice and add some chopped parsley to garnish.

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Low Carb, Main Dishes, One Pot Meals, Shrimp. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

