Zucchini Bread

Make this ahead for the weekend to serve with breakfast or to eat as a snack in the afternoon for your family or great if you are having guests. This was a recipe of my Mom’s as well.  It makes two loaves. This zucchini bread is also a go to when you are looking for something to make as a thank you gift.  You have one loaf for the gift and one loaf to keep for your family.

Zucchini Bread

Makes 2 loaves

1 cup vegetable oil

2 ½ cups sugar

3 eggs

2 cups grated zucchini (2 medium zucchinis)

3 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

¼ tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

3 tsp. cinnamon

½ cup milk

2/3 cup chopped pecans

Grease two loaf pans.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a mixing bowl cream oil and sugar together.  Add eggs and mix well.  Add zucchini and mix.  Sift together dry ingredients.  Add dry ingredients and milk and mix well.  Fold in chopped pecans.

Pour even amounts into the two loaf pans and bake for 50-60 minutes.  Check with toothpick in the center of both loaves.  When toothpick comes out clean the breads are done.

Cool for about 10 minutes in pans.  Then remove from pan by turning upside down.  Place right side up to cool on a wire rack.

 

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Breakfast Dishes, Food Gift Recipes, Hospitality, Quick Breads. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zucchini Bread

  1. Alan Augustine says:

    That looks very tasty!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

