Buttermilk Pie

I enjoy baking pies.  They can be a quick and easy dessert.  You can make pie crusts ahead and keep them in the freezer or buy a good quality store bought crust.  Once you have the crust in a pie plate you just need a filling and bake it off in the oven.

Most of the pie recipes I have came from my Mom and other family members.  My Dad loves pies so they was a dessert of choice often in our house.

This pie recipe is a custard with the addition of buttermilk and the ingredients are so simple that most of them should already be in your fridge or pantry.  Many people have heard of a custard pie, but not a buttermilk pie.  I know some people are what?  Buttermilk?  Believe me when I tell you that the buttermilk gives the pie a tang that a regular custard pie does not have.  This pie comes out creamy and you can adjust the amount of nutmeg according to your taste.  I love the ground nutmeg as well so I tend to add a big pinch of nutmeg.  Yum!

Buttermilk Pie

Serves 6-8

1  9” unbaked pie crust

½ cup butter, softened to room temperature

2 cups sugar

3 rounded Tbsp. flour

3 eggs beaten

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp. vanilla

dash of nutmeg

Cream sugar and butter in the bowl of on electric mixer.  Add flour and eggs.  Beat well.  Stir in buttermilk, vanilla and nutmeg.  Pour into unbaked pie crust and bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes.  Insert a toothpick into the center.  When you pull it back out you want it to not have any of the filling on the toothpick. This will indicate that the pie is done.  Let the pie cool to room temperature and keep in the refrigerator.  Once the pie is cooled it will be set so that you can slice it.  Serve it with sweetened whipped cream.

DSC_0715

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Dessert, pies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

