Peach Crostata

March 14th is Pie Day.  Since I love to make pies I thought I would post a this today.  I call it Peach Crostata, but really it is a free form rustic peach pie.  It has a crust like a peach pie and filling like peach pie, but you do not need a pie plate.  It is quick and easy.  You want just ripe peaches so that they still have some shape and texture when cooked.

Peach Crostata

serves 6-8

One pie crust (store bought or homemade)

Filling:

5 medium ripe peaches, sliced

1/3 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp. fresh lemon juice

½ tsp. ground cinnamon

¼ tsp. ground nutmeg

¼ tsp. salt

Egg wash:

1 egg

1 Tbsp half and half

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

DSC_0946In a large bowl combine the peaches, brown sugar, sugar, flour, lemon juice, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.

Flour your surface and roll out pie crust or use pie crust bought at the store.

DSC_0958Transfer crust on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

DSC_0959Spoon the peach filling into the middle of the rolled out crust.  Do not spread the filling out to the ends of the crust.

DSC_0960You want to leave enough room to fold the crust over on top of itself and up onto the filling so the crust holds in the fruit as it bakes.

DSC_0962Beat the egg, add half and half and mix well.  Using a brush, spread the egg mixture on the crust.  This will brown the crust as it bakes.  Finish the crostata off with a sprinkle of sugar on top of the crust.  Bake for 20-25 minutes until lightly browned and hot and bubbly.  If the filling is not bubbling after 25 minutes let it bake for another 5 minutes.  Serve with vanilla ice cream or sweetened whipped cream.

DSC_0966

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Dessert, pies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

