Stuffed Bell Peppers

This is an easy main dish to make.  You can make it a day ahead and put it in the oven when you are ready to cook it.  The meat mixture freezes well.  So freeze extra or leftover meat mixture for the next time.  My family loves these so I fix them often.  Traditionally, stuffed peppers also have rice in them, but since my husband is diabetic and stays away from high carb foods, I make the rice on the side for those that still want it.

Stuffed Bell Peppers

Serves 4-6

1 Tbsp. Olive oil

4 bell peppers, green or colored

1 1/2 lb. ground beef

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 Tbsp. Italian Seasoning

2 tsp. worchestershire sauce

1 tsp. Dijon mustard

1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes

1 15 oz. can tomato sauce

Topping:

½ cup bread crumbs

¼ cup grated parmesan cheese

1 cup grated mozzarella cheese

Handful of chopped fresh parsley

Cut the bell peppers in half from top to bottom.  This will give you 8 bell pepper cups.  Clean out the seeds and membrane.DSC_0948Take one of the bell pepper halves and chop to go into the filling.

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  When the skillet is hot, add the chopped onion and chopped bell pepper.  Saute until tender, then add the minced garlic and cook for 2 minutes.  Add the ground beef to the skillet and break up with a wooden or plastic cooking spoon you are using for the meat sauce.  When the beef is cooked through and crumbled, turn down the heat to low and add the salt, black pepper, Italian seasoning, Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mustard, diced tomatoes and tomato sauce.  Stir well and taste for seasoning.  If it needs more of any of the seasoning, add a small amount to your liking.  Let the meat mixture simmer for 15 minutes.DSC_0944Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grate the mozzarella and parmesan cheeses, chop the parsley and mix together with the bread crumbs to make a topping.

Place the bell pepper cups in a 13×9 baking dish.  Fill the peppers with the meat mixture. Top the peppers with the cheese, bread crumb mixture.  Drizzle with olive oil to help brown.  Pour about an inch of water in the bottom of the baking dish.  You want enough water that it covers the bottom of the dish.  The water will help to steam the peppers and cover with foil.  Cook at 375 degrees for 35 minutes covered and 5-10 minutes uncovered so the stuffed peppers will brown on top.

DSC_0949

 

 

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Beef, Low Carb, Main Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

