Chicken Corn Chowder

Traditionally, chowders have potatoes in them, but potatoes have a lot of carbs that are not good people watching their blood sugar.  Corn is also a starchy vegetable, but corn does not raise my husband’s blood sugar like potatoes do.  So instead of using potatoes in this chowder, I use white cannellini beans.  Beans also are higher in carbs, but they are a complex carbohydrate and do not spike the blood sugar like simple carbs do.  This is a one pot meal you can have on the table in about an hour.  It is also great to freeze as well.

Chicken Corn Chowder

serves 6-8

8 oz bacon, cut into pieces

olive oil to drizzle on chicken

2 Tbsp. butter

1 large onions, diced

2 large cloves of garlic, minced

1/3 cup flour

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. black pepper

1 bay leaf

1 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. ground coriander

2 quarts chicken stock

1 15 oz. can white cannellini beans, drained

1 1lb. bags frozen corn

3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, roasted and cubed

1 tsp. hot sauce (I prefer Texas Pete)

1 cups half and half

Toppings:

8 oz. White Cheddar cheese, grated

Crumbled bacon

Chopped fresh Italian parsley

 

20160519_160009Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Place chicken breasts on cooking sheet.  Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Cook for 40 minutes.

20160518_172019Remove from oven and let cool.

20160518_173031Cut the chicken into bite size cubed pieces.

20160518_165222In a dutch oven on medium heat, cook bacon pieces until crisp.

Remove bacon and leaving drippings on pot. Reduce heat and add butter and onions.  Cook onions until they start to soften.  Add the minced garlic and cook for 2 minutes.

20160518_170616Add salt, pepper, thyme, and coriander. Sprinkle in the flour and stir.  Cook until flour is well incorporated, about 2-3 minutes.

20160518_171049Add chicken stock and bay leaf.  Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer.  Cover and cook on low heat for 20-30 minutes.

Remove lid and add corn, drained cannellini beans and cubed chicken.  Bring back to a medium heat and add the hot sauce and half and half.  Cook for another 5 minutes.  Check seasoning and add additional salt and pepper to taste.

Ladle up in a bowl and add toppings – white cheddar cheese, cooked crumbled bacon and chopped parsley.

You can get more of my recipes by signing up to receive email alerts when I have added a new post. Go to the homepage of this blog and look for the link under my picture on the upper right corner.

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Main Dishes, One Pot Meals, Poultry, Soups and Stews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

