Whole Roasted Chicken

Buying a whole chicken is one of the best values at the grocery store.  One quick fix is to roast the whole chicken in the oven.  Now some of you may say why would I roast a chicken at home when you can buy whole roasted chicken at every supermarket in America.  If you make part of your regular grocery list to keep whole chickens in your refrigerator or freezer then when you need one you do not have to run to the store to get one.  Also, you can roast a chicken anytime in about an hour.  You can even roast multiple chickens at a time.  Season up the chicken and put it in the oven while you are doing chores around the house, watching tv at night or even when you are cooking another meal. Roasted chicken will keep in the refrigerator for several days.

Whole Roasted Chicken

1 whole chicken

olive oil

1 lemon, cut into wedges

salt

pepper

granulated garlic powder

dried thyme leaves

dried crushed rosemary

poultry seasoning

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

whole chickenRinse the whole chicken under cool water in your kitchen sink.  Pat the skin dry so that the spices will remain on the skin.  Lay on a clean cutting board.

20160523_175749Cut the lemon into wedges.

20160523_175859Set the chicken up with the cavity on top.

20160523_180045 Sprinkle in the salt, pepper, garlic, thyme, rosemary and poultry seasoning all around in the cavity.  Place in the lemon wedges.

20160523_180139Turn breast side up and drizzle with olive oil and rub all over the skin.

20160523_180336Sprinkle the seasonings all over.

20160523_180427Place into a baking dish breast side down.  You are going to cook the chicken breast side down for 40-45 minutes.  This will keep the breast meat juice and tender.

seasoned chickenRepeat with drizzling the olive oil and seasoning.

Roast at 400 degrees for 40-45 minutes.  Turn chicken breast side up and roast another 20-25 minutes to finish cooking and brown the skin.

20160523_191659Here is the done chicken.  One way to check if a chicken is done is to pull on the leg and it should start to pull off easily.  The dark meat takes the longest to cook.

20160523_193418Cut the chicken into quarters and serve up as a meal now or cool down and store in the refrigerator for meals that use roasted chicken.

You can get more of my recipes by signing up to receive email alerts when I have added a new post. Go to the homepage of this blog and look for the link under my picture on the upper right corner.

 

 

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Poultry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

