Roasted Butternut Squash

As a boy my husband says sweet potatoes gave him a headache.  I love sweet potatoes, but I did not cook with them because my husband and kids did not like them.

When my husband was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, we had to find a variety more of vegetables to eat.  I know you are saying that butternut squash is a root vegetable and is starchy.  Comparatively, butternut squash still has carbs, but not as many as sweet potatoes, and still has some of the same benefits as sweet potatoes, like being a great source for vitamin A. Butternut squash has 16 grams of carbs for 1 up cubed.  Sweet potatoes have 27 grams of carbs for 1 cup cubed.

Ironically, my husband does not get the headaches he claimed he had as a child from the seet potatoes and I love the butternut squash as well, so we both win!

20160523_183535If you are not familiar with butternut squash this is what one looks like.

Roasted Butternut Squash

serves 6

1 whole butternut squash

olive oil

salt

pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

20160529_074438First, you cut off the top and bottom of the squash.

20160523_183851Using a peeler, peel the whole squash.

20160523_184208Stand the quash up on end and cut down the middle.

Use a spoon to scoop out the seeds and discard.

20160529_074618Turn cut side down and cut into thick slices.

20160523_184958Cut into cubes.

Place cubed butternut squash on a baking sheet.  Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle salt and pepper.  Toss and spread out evenly over the baking sheet.  Do not crowd the baking or the squash will steam instead of roast and brown.  Use a second baking sheet if necessary for there to be enough room.  Place in a 425 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.  Serve immediately.

You can get more of my recipes by signing up to receive email alerts when I have added a new post. Go to the homepage of this blog and look for the link under my picture on the upper right corner.

 

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

