Sauteed Swiss Chard

As my kids were growing up, I cooked and we ate dinner together as a family at least 4-5 times a week. I made a main dish, two vegetables and a starch or salad in place of one of the vegetables. I thought we ate a pretty balanced diet with different vegetables. It wasn’t until about 3 1/2 years ago when my husband was really letting his diabetes run out of control that his doctor looked at him and said,  You have to “unfriend” pasta, rice, potatoes, bread and dessert that I came to the realization that there were quite a few more vegetables for us to try.

wp-1466542833257.jpg
One of those was Swiss Chard. My husband had always liked collard greens and we already liked green vegetables like broccoli and asparagus. Since pasta is now out for him, sauteed leafy greens, like Swiss Chard is what I go to now when I want make something Italian that I use to make a side of pasta to go with.  Swiss Chard is low on carbohydrates and is a great source of vitamins A and C.  It is also a quick vegetable to make with dinner.

Sauteed Swiss Chard
2-3 servings

Olive oil
1 bunch of Swiss Chard
1/2 red onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
juice of 1 small lemon
1 tsp. Salt (I use kosher salt)
1/2 tsp. Pepper
1/4 tsp. Nutmeg

Make sure the chard is washed and dry.

The first thing I do is cut out the red rib so I have just the leaves left.

Stack the leaves on top of each other and cut them into ribbons.

Slice the red onion and minced the 2 cloves garlic.

Heat large saute pan on medium high heat and add olive oil.  Add sliced onion and cook for 2-3 minutes to soften the onion, then add the minced garlic.  You want to wait on adding the garlic because it will burn.  Keep your eye on it and stir.

Add the chard.  Sprinkle with salt, pepper and nutmeg.  Stir.  Add lemon juice and continue to stir.

20160523_192508.jpgCook for 3-4 minutes.  It cooks down like spinach.  If you need to serve more than 2-3 people, you will want to use to another bunch.  The chard cooks quickly so you want to do this when everything else for dinner is ready.  If you leave it on the heat, they will continue to cook down and the darker the color will become.  The darker color may not be eye pleasing.

20160524_131406.jpg

You can get more of my recipes by signing up to receive email alerts when I have added a new post. Go to the homepage of this blog and look for the link under my picture on the upper right corner.

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Low Carb, Side Dishes, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

