Red Bell Pepper, Onion and Spinach Frittata

Since our daughter is getting married this year, I have been spending time every month at her house in Texas.  She did not take much interest in cooking when she lived at home, but with trying to learn to live on a budget and her upcoming marriage, she is now asking questions and trying some recipes.  She needs meals that cook in a crockpot or can be made in under an hour, since she has a short attention span.  Does anyone else find this an issue with your kids?  Anyway, as I was at her house one morning recently, I knew when she woke up she would be hungry for breakfast so I open the refrigerator to see what I could find.  I found eggs, cheese, red bell pepper, onion, spinach and half and half.  I immediately went to frittata.  A frittata is basiclly an Italian version of a omelette or crustless quiche that you bake in the oven.

Frittatas are also a great option for low carb for my husband when I substitute unsweetened almond milk for the half and half.20160625_072359

Red Pepper, Onion and Spinach Frittata

Serves 6

2 cups of fresh spinach (fill the bottom of the pie plate)

10 eggs

1/2 large red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 large yellow onion, chopped

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. dried thyme

3/4 cup grated cheddar cheese

3/4 cup grated monterey jack cheese

1 cup half and half (substitute unsweetened almond milk to be low carb)

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

20160625_072011Spray the bottom of a deep dish pie plate with nonstick cooking spray.  Place fresh spinach in the bottom

20160625_073109.jpgChop the red bell pepper and onion.

20160709_074227.jpgSautee red bell pepper and onion in a skillet.  Sprinkle with salt, black pepper, garlic powder and dried thyme.

20160625_072044Crack 10 eggs in a bowl.

Add half and half with a sprinkle of salt and pepper.  Beat together.

Grate the cheeses and add to the beaten eggs and mix.

Add the sauteed red bell pepper and onions and mix together.

20160625_074741Pour over the top of the spinach.  Place in the oven at 400 degrees and bake for 25-30 minutes.

This is what it looks like when it comes out of the oven.

You can get more of my recipes by signing up to receive email alerts when I have added a new post. Go to the homepage of this blog and look for the link under my picture on the upper right corner.

 

 

 

 

 

About Karen Ann Lockyer

At the age of 21, I married my husband, AC and moved from Texas to Florida. I was a long way from home and missed my family. So I began cooking the recipes my Mom had cooked. I quickly became a Mom and wanted to give my children the same experience I had growing up with meals around the dinner table every night. I started with the classics like chicken and dumplings, pot roast, chicken enchiladas and desserts. Every good meal has to end with something sweet. Now my children, Lauren, 22 and AJ, 20 are grown. I spend my time in the kitchen expanding my cooking skills and writing down recipes. I am here to share with you the recipes I grew up on and the ones my kids and AC love. I also travel with AC on his business trips and try to find great restaurants and food along the way. I attribute my love for cooking and food to my family who always encourage me and enjoy being my guinea pigs.
This entry was posted in Breakfast Dishes, Low Carb. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

